top of page

The Chakra System

Over the last 5000 years, sages, philosophers, and mystics have described the subtle energies in our environment and within our bodies in many different ways. Several systems have developed to explain them but they generally all agree that wherever dynamic energies meet in nature they form spinning circular patterns or vortices. Think great spiral galaxies, cloud systems or water eddies on the surface of streams. 

The seers of ancient India perceived similar vortices within the energy of the human body and described seeing seven main wheel-like energy centers that seemed to mirror both health and the spiritual state. They called them Chakras from the Sanskrit word that literally means “Wheel”. These seven chakras were seen as multi-dimensional gateways that would allow the individual to access different experiences and states of consciousness. The practices of yoga, meditation, sound bathing and chanting were developed to activate, cleanse, and integrate these life energy centers.

rainbow colored visual representations of sounds in disc form

These canvases painted by French artist Anne Steinlein, are artistic renditions of the six Ancient Solfeggio Frequencies as viewed through a Cymascope. The seventh canvas related to the Crown chakra (Purple) was imagined by Steinlein herself

The system has gained prominence in Western consciousness in the last five decades in part through New Age teachings. It has been integrated by other spiritual framework and modern energy healing modalities.


Chakras can be thought of as organizational centers for the reception, assimilation, and transmission of life energy and as such help regulate all the human body’s processes. Modern physiology has shown that these seven chakras are located near the seven major nerve ganglia that emanate from the spinal column, clearly establishing the possibility that these energy centers “communicate” with our physical body through the nerve ganglia, connecting us to higher and deeper non-physical realms. See more on the human aura and its connection to the chakra system.

Rainbow Chakra photo

Our main seven chakra consist of the following:

Base or Root Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, is associated with Survival. It is where we store fear. Critical to feeling grounded, fully incarnated in this dimension.

At the emotional level, an imbalance in the root chakra can manifest as excessive negativity and/or cynicism, showing greed and/or avarice, excessive feeling of insecurity and living on survival mode constantly, issues with control over food intake and diet.

Red disc
Orange Disc

Sacral Chakra

Located in the lower abdomen, is associated with emotions and sexuality. When the Sacral chakra is balanced, the relationship with the world and other people is centered around nurturing, pleasure, and harmonious exchange. If imbalanced, the following can arise: dependency or co-dependency with people or substance, being ruled by emotions or feeling numb, overindulge in fantasies, sexual obsessions or lack of sexual desire, feeling stuck in a particular feeling or mood.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Located in the solar plexus, is associated with personal power, will, and self-esteem. It is where we store anger. It is closely connected to the digestive system and it governs metabolism. 

Imbalances can manifest as exerting excessive control and authority, or feeling of helplessness, being manipulative, lack of purpose or ambition, misusing your power.

Yellow disc
Green disc

Heart Chakra

Located over the sternum, is associated with Love.

An imbalance can show as being overly defensive, feeling closed down, being jealous, having codependency, falling into victimization, being antisocial, not being able to forgive among others.

Throat Chakra

Located in the throat, is associated with communications and creativity. 

If imbalanced, it can manifest as a lack of control over one’s speech(too much or too shy), not being able to listen to others, fear of speaking, lack of connection with a vocation or purpose in life.

Blue Disc
Dark Blue Disc

Third Eye Chakra

Located in the center of the forehead, is associated with clairvoyance, intuition, and imagination. An imbalance can manifest as an inability to see the greater picture, lack of clarity, rejection of everything spiritual.

Crown Chakra

Located at the top of the head, is associated with knowledge, understanding and transcendent consciousness. It gets us in touch with the universal but if overactive it can manifest as a disconnection from the body.

Purple Disc

Chakras can be open or closed, excessive or deficient, or any of the various stages in between.

During a session I work with each chakras’ frequency dispensed by the tuning forks in the person’s etheric field to balance each one of them. 

Please note that this technique despite its potential to be transformational is not a magic wand and cannot resolve everything at once. 

Each session goes deeper into each chakras’ need and help it return to optimal functioning. We are multi layered energetically and it can take time to “peel” away some of our dysfunctions as we must proceed at the pace our bodies can take.

bottom of page